File Manager

The File Manager is your website's storage to upload images and other documents you want to use throughout your website. 


To access the File Manager, please follow these steps:

  1. Log in as an admin to your LiveEdit website.

  2. Click on the Dashboard icon within the LiveEdit toolbar.

  3. Click on the File Manager link under Services,



Upon visiting the File Manager for the first time, you'll be presented with a brief tour. You can choose to view the tour or proceed on your own. Please note that the tour can be started again at any time by clicking the rocket icon in the upper-right hand corner.


1. Click the "Show Me How It Works" button. If you want to pass on the tutorial, click the "No Thanks, I'll figure it out." button.





2. Clicking on the blue gear icon, you'll be given choices on adding or deleting folders. When adding subfolders you can continually nest them until you have the structure you want.


Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 3.21.36 PM




3. Clicking the "Upload File" button will bring to a new screen which has a big dotted area.



Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 3.21.46 PM




4. Here you'll see the breadcrumbs to keep track of your location in the directory structure.


Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 3.21.56 PM




5. Clicking the "Add Files" button will take you to the upload screen.


Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 3.22.17 PM




6. In the big dotted area, you can place many types of files and many files at the same time for upload.


Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 3.22.06 PM




7. Clicking the "View Files" button will bring you back to your file list.


Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 3.22.26 PM




8. You'll see the uploaded files displayed in a list.



9. When checking the checkbox corresponding to the file you'll be able to perform certain actions, such as 'Move' or 'Delete'.




10. The Keyword/Tag field allows you to search and sort files based on any tags you've applied.


Screen Shot 2014-05-27 at 3.23.01 PM




11. Clicking on the row for your significant file will pop a dialog with the file details.




12. Here is the listing of details for a given file. Click on the "Edit" button will open up the built-in photo editing tool.






13. Clicking on the "View Trash" button will take you to all of the items in the trash. 


Note: If you have any of the checkboxes checked, you can select an action of Restore or Delete Forever. Once the action is selected you'll either have the file entirely deleted or restored and able to be used again.






FAQs


How do I tell if my file is done uploading?
Once the green progress bar has disappeared, your file is successfully uploaded.


Why did my file fail to upload?
If an image has failed to upload, a few different things may be happening:

  1. If the file is over 100MB in size, it will fail to upload. We recommend keeping all images below 1M and videos below 100MB.

  2. If the file name includes any special characters ( *, $, ( ), %, &, @ ) the image will fail to upload. Dashes ( - and _ ) are OK to use.